Bayer Leverkusen Win The Bundesliga Title For The First Time In Their History

Bayer Leverkusen won their first-ever Bundesliga title following a 5-0 hammering of Werder Bremen at home on Sunday. It is Leverkusen’s first league title in their 120 years of existence. With the title, Leverkusen ended Bayern Munich’s dominance of 11 consecutive titles. Xabi Alonso-managed Leverkusen came into the fixture knowing a win would secure the title with five games to spare, but there were no signs of nerves in a dominant display. A hat-trick from Florian Wirtz alongside goals from Victor Boniface and Granit Xhaka extending their unbeaten run to a stunning 43 games in all competitions.

Bayern Munich’s 11-year dominance of the Bundesliga is broken by Xabi Alonso’s Werkself. Leverkusen’s previous best finish had been second place, something they had achieved five times in their history. Their quest to win a remarkable treble also remains alive. They take on Kaiserslautern in the domestic cup final and lead West Ham 2-0 in the Europa League quarter-final after the first leg on Thursday. With 10 minutes to go, the long-suffering fans made their way to the sidelines and a few jumped the gun, storming the pitch with the full time whistle yet to be blown.

Leverkusen players ushered the fans back into their seats. Some obliged, albeit briefly, with the stands swiftly emptying on the 90-minute mark as tearful fans made their way onto the field to celebrate with the players. Leverkusen are now on 79 points ‚ÄĒ the best tally after 29 games in German league history ‚ÄĒ and are 16 clear of second-placed Bayern and third-placed Stuttgart.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.