The 5 Times That The Edmonton Oilers Have Lifted Lord Stanley’s Cup

No Canadian team has won the Stanley Cup since June 9, 1993 when Montreal finished off the Wayne Gretzky-led Los Angeles Kings, 4-1, in the best-of-7 series. The Edmonton Oilers will be the latest Canadian-based franchise seeking to break that hex when they face the Florida Panthers in Game 1 of the Stanley Cup Final on Saturday. The Oilers have lifted Lord Stanley’s chalice five times (1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1990) and the Panthers are seeking their first title.

The Oilers dominated the NHL during the 1983–84 season, finishing first overall with a franchise record 57 wins and 119 points. In the playoffs, they swept the Winnipeg Jets, defeated the Calgary Flames in seven games, and swept the Minnesota North Stars in the conference finals. The Oilers secured their first Stanley Cup by winning three consecutive games in Edmonton before being 1-1 against the New York Islanders in the Finals. Mark Messier received the Conn Smythe Trophy as the playoff MVP.

During the 1984–85 season, the Oilers finished second overall with 49 wins and 109 points. Wayne Gretzky led the NHL in goals, and the team swept the Los Angeles Kings and Winnipeg Jets in the playoffs. In the Stanley Cup Finals, they lost the first game to the Philadelphia Flyers but won the next four, clinching their second consecutive Stanley Cup. Paul Coffey set records for most goals, assists, and points by a defenseman in a playoff year.

In the 1986–87 season, the Oilers secured their second straight Presidents’ Trophy with 50 wins and 106 points. They faced the Philadelphia Flyers again in the Stanley Cup Finals. After a tough battle, the Oilers won Game 7, and Ron Hextall of the Flyers won the Conn Smythe Trophy. This marked their third Stanley Cup victory. The Oilers underwent changes losing star players but still excelled in the 1987–88 season, finishing third overall. In the playoffs, they defeated the Winnipeg Jets, Calgary Flames, and Detroit Red Wings in the Campbell Conference Final. The Oilers swept the Boston Bruins in the Stanley Cup Finals, and Wayne Gretzky won the Conn Smythe Trophy.

The 1989–90 Edmonton Oilers, navigating a transitional period after Wayne Gretzky’s departure, marked a defining chapter under Captain Mark Messier and coach John Muckler. Despite challenges in the regular season, including Grant Fuhr’s absence, the team secured the fifth spot in the NHL standings. The Oilers triumphed over the Winnipeg Jets, Los Angeles Kings, and Chicago Blackhawks in the path to the finals. The Stanley Cup Finals saw a memorable three-overtime Game 1 against the Boston Bruins, ultimately resulting in the Oilers winning the series in five games and clinching their first championship without Gretzky. Bill Ranford’s stellar goaltending earned him the Conn Smythe Trophy, underscoring the team’s ability to succeed and thrive beyond the Gretzky era.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.